The Board of Directors at Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School is our governing board comprised of five voting board members. They are members of one of the following three groups: parents, non-interest holding members, or community members. The Executive Director is a nonvoting member of the board. Board members reside in San Diego County or a contiguous county where HSCS students are served.

The governing board's primary roles and responsibilities include approving all major educational and operational policies, contracts, the school's annual budget, and Executive Director selection; overseeing the school's fiscal affairs; and ensuring all provisions of the charter school legislation is followed. The Executive Director has the authority and responsibility of managing day-to-day operations of our school, including the selection of administrative, certificated, and classified personnel.

If you are interested in the available community member postition on our Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School Board of Directors please email Executive Director Lorena Chavez: for more information.  Please note the community member position cannot be filled by a parent of current Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School students.

Hawking LCAP 16-17




Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School Board of Directors

Parent Members:

Anna Loera Rodriguez brings to the board experience in program and financial management.  She formulates budgets consistent with program stategies and knows how to execute budgets for best results.

Esther Parrenas brings to the board 15 years of education experience, having attended both Southwest Junior and Southwest High Schools, UCSD, and having her teaching credential in English with a Master's in Cross Cultural Education.  She currently organizes all of Southwest Middle School's parent committees and governance board, and manages the site budgets from State and Federal Programs.

Community Members:

Greg Shadoan serves as a dedicated community member of the Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School Board.  Born and raised in the South Bay area, he attended Nestor Elementary, Southwest Junior High (home of the Hawking II campus), Southwest High School, and Southwestern Jr. College and understands the challenges facing the children and families of this outstanding community.  As an executive in the moving and storage industry in Chula Vista, he has over 25 years of experience helping to relocate our US military families worldwide.  He is an active member of the San Diego County community who has volunteered at several local elementary schools over the past 2 decades to assist in the mentoring of our future leaders.  He also volunteers with Inspiring Connections Outdoors, a non profit group committed to introducing our children to hiking, camping and other outdoor activities in Southern California that they otherwise might not get the opportunity to experience and learn from.

Bill Tayler is a business litigation attorney who has practiced law in San Diego County for more than 20 years after graduating from the University of Texas School of Law in 1993.  He also has a strong background in the natural sciences, having received a B.S. in Anthropology/Zoology from the University of Michigan in 1988.  In his free time, he leads hiking and camping trips for low-income youth through the Sierra CLub ICO program.



The Board of Directors of SWHCS welcomes the public to the business meetings of the Board and dedicates time at these meetings to hear from the public on agenda items and other issues of concern.

It is important for all community members to feel welcome and safe in the Board’s business meetings.  Audience members will be expected to treat all attendees with respect and civility, just as SWHCS expects of students in our schools.

Each speaker will have up to three (3) minutes to speak at a regular Board meeting. Speakers addressing agenda items will have preference if the list is full. For special Board meetings, public testimony will only be taken on the scheduled agenda item(s).

The time limits must be observed so that five (5) people will be able to speak during the time allotted for public testimony. In order to provide opportunities to address the Board, speakers are allowed only one 3-minute time slot per meeting. If you are not one of the first five (5) speakers, you can ask to be added to the wait list.

If you want to give your time to someone else, you must attend the Board meeting and announce this to the Board when it is your turn to speak. The person to whom you cede your time will receive the remainder of your minutes and should speak to the same topic.

If you have handouts to give to the Board, please bring at least six (6) copies and give them to Board staff ahead of the meeting. No one should approach the dais with handouts.

The Board does not take public comments on issues related to personnel or individually named staff at Board meetings; speakers will be ruled out of order by the Board Chair. The Board Chair will also rule a speaker out of order for the use of name-calling, profanity, racial slurs or threats. Persons who attempt to disrupt the meeting will be asked to leave.

*One person is to speak at a time.
*Comments should be addressed to the Board.
*Please adhere to the time limit on testimony.
*The focus of comments should be on issues and solutions.
*No racial slurs, personal insults, ridicule, or threats will be allowed.
*All signs brought to meetings are subject to these ground rules.


The order of public testimony will be determined as follows: agenda action items, agenda introduction items, and then items of general interest.

The Board agenda is posted by close of business the Friday before regular Board meetings. You can sign up 15 minutes prior to the Board Meeting or e-mail to request a time slot at least 24 hours prior to the meeting. Please give your legal name, telephone number, e-mail address, and the topic you would like to address. Please note, only the person who will be providing testimony may request the spot.

The Board is not able to contact every person who requests to speak at the meeting. Each person should check the posted information in the school office to see if their time has been added.

Other ways to contact the Board:

Board Chair:    Anna Loera Rodriguez


Address:    Hawking S.T.E.A.M. Charter School Board of Directors

                   1355 2nd Avenue

                   Chula Vista, CA 91911